Skip to content

Per Ardua Ad Infinitum - Wales

Starts In
Start Date
Finish Date
Length of Route
Distance Travelled (Miles)
Approx. Daily Distance
Distance Travelled (Miles)
Vehicle Eligibility
Pre 1991
(All Eligible for Overall Results)
Event Level
Event Level
Exp. No. of Tests
Exp. No. of Regularities
HERO-ERA Cup Co-Efficient
Heritage & Premier Entry Fee
Club Member Entry Fee

This is your winter rally ‘Jump Start,’ a red event that has built its reputation over a short period as anything but a winter warmer. Rather than a warm glove, it is a cold gauntlet thrown down in the form of a potent RAC Rally of the Tests and Three Legs of Mann mixture – enough to get you coughing and sputtering back into rally life.

The PAAI has previously slithered over snow and struggled for visibility across the wet moors of the west country, but now it is taking a deep breath and heading for Epynt, yes, the epicentre of WRC in the 90’s and 60’s + 70’s road rallying in the fiercely fought Motoring News Championship events!

The Per Ardua will definitely live up to its red tag status as it heads to the infamous Epynt Military Ranges, the scene of rally grief and triumph in equal measure. With its mix of fast tarmac and gravel roads, which even some of the best in world rally and road rallying have failed to conquer, this rally will force the sleepiest competitor out of hibernation.

A two day event over a 400 mile route, based in Llandrindod Wells starting from the ‘Rally Hall of Fame’ Hotel, the Metropole, crews will head to the mid Wales rally territory for tests and regularities before a really exciting evening TC section. Crews should be back for a Llandrindod Wells supper by 10.00pm.

A potent mix of more regularities and tests over the hallowed rally grounds on Sunday will ensure the event remains a ‘full on’ adrenalin experience. In a shorter day, the first car will finish back at the Metropole Hotel by 3.00 pm, where following the prize giving, crews will depart tired but hopefully happy after feeling the full effects of Per Ardua Ad Infinitum – having survived ‘Through Endless Adversity.’

Event Schedule

Day 0

Scrutineering & Documentation | 09 February 2024

Scrutineering & Documentation will be taking place at the Royal Welsh showground before the crews head to Rally hall of fame the Metropole hotel to collect there map books and some route information to plot to ease them into the event on the Saturday morning

Day 1

Day One | 10 February 2024

A new base for the event sees the cars Flagged away from the iconic Metropole Hotel in Llandrindod Wells synonymous with rallying in Wales having been the base for many Motoring News Rally events in the 1960 & 70's, more recently the Targa Rusticana events run by OUMC in the late 90's and early 2000's, Guy Woodcock, Clerk of the Course working with Epynt oracle Martin Leonard will be looking to recreated these events of old!

We head onto the Epynt military ranges for the first of a few visits over the period of the weekend for some tests and regularity before heading west over some of the famous mid-Wales rallying territory, with a lunch stop for crews to have a respite from the competition and able to reset, the afternoon will once again see us return to Epynt for more fun before a supper halt preludes the evening TC section planned before the first crews finish up at 9pm and head back to Llandrindod Wells for supper and the bar to recount tales of the day

Day 2

Day Two | 11 February 2024

The second day sees a 9am start and a finish around 3pm to allow crews to head home on the Sunday after the prizegiving, but rest assured the shorter day will still be full and in the ethos of PAAI events will keep the crews on their toes with a variety of tests and regularities to tax all crews.

The event will see the prize giving in the Metropole where we believe crews will depart, enthused but tired after a full-on event in the style the PAAI and Three Legs of Mann have become recognised for.

What is Included in the Entry Fee?

  • Event participation for one eligible car with a crew of two – Driver & Navigator
  • Detailed Routebook/Map Book
  • Extensive Hospitality package:
  • Coffee, Lunch and Supper for each crew member, from Saturday 10th to 11th Feb
  • Awards Presentation on Sunday 11th Feb
  • One souvenir rally plate to fix to the front or rear of the car
  • Two side number panels
  • Overall awards for 1st, 2nd and 3rd
  • Class Awards to third in class – if there are three or more crews per class
  • Special awards at the organiser's discretion
  • HERO-ERA mechanical assist/sweep teams on the event, to help keep crews moving
  • An experienced team of HERO-ERA officials & marshals to keep the event moving and on track
  • Results team and Media team keeping your family and friends, following the event, up to date
  • Post-event, detailed results book
Arrive & Drive Scheme

Need a car?

The Arrive & Drive scheme allows you to compete should your car be unavailable or, if you are looking to purchase a similar model in the future it gives you the chance to get to know your prospective purchase. We have a wide and varied range of vehicles to suit everyone's taste.

Need a car?

Entry List

Adam Davis (MY)Graeme Presswell (GB)1968MG B1950
Alex Cottam (GB)Phil Cottam (GB)1986Volkswagen Golf1781
Alistair Leckie (GB)1984Saab 900 Turbo 8V1985
Brian Yeomans (GB)Andrew Yeomans (GB)
Callum Guy (GB)Amy Henchoz (GB)1964Sunbeam Tiger4200
Christopher Day (GB)Claire Day (GB)
Christopher Wilks (GB)David Creech (GB)1963Volvo Amazon1800
Cliff England (GB)Peter Rushforth (GB)1968Triumph 20002498
Dan Willan (GB)Niall Frost (UY)1962Volvo PV5441800
Dave Hemstock (GB)Colin Readwin (GB)1982Austin Allegro1500
David Maryon (GB)Peter Joy (GB)1966MG B Roadster1798
Ed Linton (GB)John Youd (GB)1967Hillman Imp998
Edward Vandyk (GB)Henry Vandyk (GB)1973Renault Alpine A1101396
François Abrial (FR)Antonio Caldeira (PT)1976BMW 320 E21 4 Cyl Carburtor1990
James Holt (GB)Martin Phaff (GB)1989BMW 325i2495
John KingOli Waldock (GB)1985Toyota MR21697
John Lomas (GB)1936Riley Sprite1500
Jon Dunning (GB)Henry Carr (GB)1980Ford Escort RS20001993
Kurt Vanderspinnen (BE)1964Ford Lotus Cortina1600
Mark Knight (GB)Andrew Smith (GB)1966Sunbeam Rapier Series V1725cc
Michael Pedley (GB)Paul Griffin (GB)1972Ford Escort RS20001993
Mick Valentine (GB)John Thornley (GB)1978Ford Escort Mk II1998
Mike Farrall (GB)Zach Burns (GB)1974Ford Mexico1600
Noel Kelly (IM)Andrew Holmes (IM)1966Volvo 122 S1800
Paul Crosby (GB)Pete Johnson (GB)1969Porsche 9112195
Paul Dyas (GB)Martyn Taylor (GB)1965Volvo Amazon1800
Paul Heaney (GB)Sandra Heaney (GB)1969Lancia Fulvia1300
Paul Mills (GB)Nick Cooper (GB)1965Austin Mini Cooper S1293
Philip Wood (GB)Kelvin Phipps (GB)1988Porsche 924S2500
Rikki Proffitt (GB)1972Porsche 9112700
Rob Robinson (GB)Suzanne Barker (GB)Mazda Mk1
Stephen Owens (GB)Nick Bloxham (GB)1965Porsche 911SWB1998
Stewart Christie (GB)Andy Ballantyne (GB)1981MG B GT1798
Thomas Koerner (DE)Max Matt (DE)1977BMW 320/41991

We use cookies to give you the best experience of using this website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.