Skip to content

HERO Challenge One

Starts In
Start Date
Finish Date
Minimum Licence Required
RS Clubman
Length of Route
Distance Travelled (Miles)
Vehicle Eligibility
Pre 1991
Event Level
Event Level
Exp. No. of Tests
Exp. No. of Regularities
Heritage & Premier Entry Fee
Club Member Entry Fee

[HERO-ERA Training Academy – Green & Blue Events]

The popular HERO Challenge series returns for 2024 with round one being based at Exeter Racecourse which is conveniently located close to the trunk road and motorway network for easy access and departure. The event will follow the normal format for a HERO Challenge with scrutineering on the Friday afternoon and evening. Saturday morning will see crews departing promptly for the start of a westbound loop that will stretch into Cornwall before circling back to Exeter for the finish and prize giving.   

Main Event Sponsor

Main Event Sponsor

Event Schedule

Day 0

Scrutineering & Documentation | 22/03/2024

Scrutineering and Documentation is scheduled Friday afternoon/early evening allowing crews plenty of time to travel.

Day 1

Rally Day

The event starts with a bang by heading straight into Tests 1 and 2. A scenic route across some of the quieter areas of Dartmoor will take crews through two more regularity sections before morning coffee in the Okehampton area.

Another undulating regularity takes crews through the rolling Devon landscape and across the River Tamar into Cornwall for the third test of the day at a splendid private estate.

Lunch is planned at a scenic waterside location before the return journey east takes us through the longest regularity of the day and back to the Exeter area.

Following a short test and a final regularity in the tricky lanes that surround the Haldon Forest complex, proceedings conclude with two tests in quick succession before the finish arch awaits.

The majority of crews will be back to Exeter before 5:00pm affording the opportunity to head home in good time, or stay for the Buffet Dinner and watch others completing the final test.

Vehicle Information

  • Entry is open to cars of a model type available pre-1991
  • The cars will be split into classes, based on age and cc or other criteria established by the organisers

What is included in the Entry Fee?

  • Event participation for one eligible car with a crew of two – Driver & Navigator
  • Detailed Route Book & Time Cards
  • Lunch and Prize Giving Buffet Dinner for each crew member along with refreshments at specific locations advised in the route book
  • Awards presentation
  • One souvenir rally plate
  • Two side number panels
  • Overall awards for 1st, 2nd and 3rd
  • Class Awards to third in class – if there are three or more crews per class
  • Special awards at organisers discretion
  • HERO-ERA mechanical assist/sweep team(s) on event, to help keep crews moving
  • An experienced team of HERO-ERA officials & marshals to keep the event moving and on track
  • Results team and Media team keeping your family and friends, following the event, up to date
  • Post event, detailed results book
Arrive & Drive Scheme

Need a car?

The Arrive & Drive scheme allows you to compete should your car be unavailable or, if you are looking to purchase a similar model in the future it gives you the chance to get to know your prospective purchase. We have a wide and varied range of vehicles to suit everyone's taste.

Need a car?
13 May 2023

HERO Challenge One 2023 Highlights Video

Watch the HERO Challenge One 2023 Highlights Video here

HERO Challenge One 2023 Highlights Video

Entry List

Adam Davis (MY)Graeme Presswell (GB)1968MG B1866
Andrew Brookes (GB)Sherian Salter (GB)1969Austin Mini Cooper998
Angus Dent (GB)Sally Ahlers (GB)1968Aston Martin DB63996cc
Ben Sanderson (GB)Alex Sanderson (GB)1972Triumph GT62498
Bron Burrell (NZ)Emily Anderson (GB)1969Austin Maxi1750
Carrie Northmore (GB)Bernard Northmore (GB)1985Porsche 9442500
Chris Lacey (GB)Geoff Lloyd (GB)1967MG MGB GT1850
Dave Alcock (GB)Danielle Pool (GB)TBATBATBA
Dave Batchelor (GB)Jackie Batchelor (GB)1964Triumph TR42290
Dave Smith (GB)Phil Cottam (GB)1972Alfa Romeo 2000 GT Veloce1962
David Bundy (GB)Debbie Bundy (GB)1969Triumph 2.5 Mk 1 Pi2498
David Creech (GB)Christopher Wilks (GB)1963Volvo Amazon1800
David Roberts (GB)Melanie Roberts (GB)1983Golf GTI Mk 1 18001780
David Watson (GB)Andy Ballantyne (GB)1971Datsun 260z2600
Douglas Fuller (GB)Joseph Somerville (GB)1989Peugeot 205 GTI1905
Edward Linton (GB)Martin Phaff1967Hillman Imp998
Francesco Valmarana (IT)Beatrice Valmarana (IT)1975Lancia Fulvia Montecarlo1295
Giles Catron (GB)TBA1979Fiat 124 Spider1995
Graeme Bolt (GB)Caroline Bolt (GB)1974Fiat 124 Spider1800
James Holt (GB)Chris Matthews (GB)1989BMW 325i2495
James Ransco (US)Josh Ransco (US)1968Mini Cooper S (A&D)1275
James Starr (GB)David Starr (GB)1961Austin Healey Sprite948
James Thomas (GB)Roland Thomas (GB)1977BL Mini 1275 GT1293
Jeff Hooley (GB)Ian Hooley (GB)TBATBATBA
John Clarke (GB)Ken Dobbs (GB)1977MG B1798
John Evans (GB)Freddie Evans (GB)1988BMW 325i2494
John Lomas (GB)Natasha Lomas (GB)1936Riley Sprite1500
Jon Harvey (GB)Steven Brown (GB)1985Volkswagen Golf GTI1781
Jonathan Shepherd (GB)Kay Shepherd (GB)1986BMW 325i2494
Julian Adams (GB)David Blackburn (GB)1975Ford Escort RS 2000 Mk21992
Julian Pitts (GB)Graham Briggs (GB)1986VW Golf GTi Mk II1781
Kate Dunn (GB)Malcolm Dunn (GB)1970MG B Roadster1956
Ken Binstead (GB)Sarah Binstead (GB)1959Austin Healey 30002998
Mark Lillington (GB)Mark Bramall (GB)1965MG B1798
Mark Shipman (GB)Mike Tarr (GB)1964Sunbeam Tiger4700
Mike Cochrane (GB)Giles Lamb (GB)1965Ford Cortina1500
Mike Denny (GB)Dave Buttle (GB)1975Triumph TR62500
Mike Dixon (GB)Liz Dixon (GB)1973MG BGT1800
Nick Brayshaw (GB)Dominic Gill (GB)1970Alfa Romeo 1750GTV1779
Owen Tyson (GB)Jill Tyson (GB)1965Morris Mini Cooper S1275
Patrick Walker (GB)Patrick Walker (GB)1978Alfa Romeo GT 1600 Junior1600
Paul Bloxidge (GB)James Bloxidge (GB)1985Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk II1781
Paul Day (GB)Alun Jones (GB)1963MG B1798
Paul Sanders (GB)Katherine Jones (GB)1971MG Midget1275
Paul Steddy (GB)TBA (GB)1967Ford Mustang4736
Paul Wells (GB)Phil Wells (GB)1967MG B Roadster1950
Peter Myles (GB)Louise Myles (GB)1984Porsche 9113200
Phil Walker (GB)Jackie Walker (GB)1980MG MGB GT1798
Philip Foster (GB)Tim Ralphs (GB)1983Porsche 9442479
Quentin Hulm (GB)Anthony Keyworth (GB)1978Triump Dolomite Sprint1998cc
Richard De Watts (GB)Arati De Watts (GB)1973MG B1798
Richard J Stanier (GB)Rob Smith (GB)1971Volvo P1800 E1998
Rob Robinson (GB)Peter Mellor (GB)1983Audi Coupe2199
Robert Carr (GB)Tim Carr (GB)1972Sunbeam Imp Sport1040
Simon Adkins (GB)Vanessa Nedde (DE)1978Porsche 9284500
Simon Ayris (GB)Matt Outhwaite (GB)1965MG B Roadster1798
Stephen Hardwick (GB)Ian Riley (GB)1971Alfa Romeo Giulia GT1962
Steve Farmer (GB)Tim Sawyer (GB)1967Volvo Amazon 123GT1800
Steve Robertson (GB)Julia Robertson (GB)1955Triumph TR31991
Tom Woodcock (GB)Rachel Woodcock (GB)1972Datsun 240Z2753cc
Tony Parsons (GB)Keith Woolhouse (GB)1968Mini Cooper S (A&D)1275

We use cookies to give you the best experience of using this website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.