Skip to content

Flying Scotsman

Congratulations to everyone who took part in and completed Flying Scotsman 2024


The overall winners of Flying Scotsman 2024 are:

1. Paul Dyas & Mark Appleton - 1937 Bentley Derby

2. Kurt Vanderspinnen & Iain Tullie - 1928 Lea Francis Hyper

3. Clint Smith & Brad Smith - 1925 Bentley 3 Litre

The Route

Read the Latest News



Film & Images

Film & Images

Rally Report

*14th Edition See’s New Names on the Trophy

*Bentley on Top with First Win for Dyas

*Final Day Drama Decides Podium Positions

 The Flying Scotsman Rally 2024, Britain’s Premier Vintage Motoring Event, has finished at the glorious Gleneagles with a gathered crowd welcoming the cars after 750 miles across three days of competition. At the end of it all #47 Paul Dyas (GB) + Mark Appleton (GB) were victorious in their 1937 Bentley Derby, with second belonging to #7 Kurt Vanderspinnen (B) + Iain Tullie (GB) – Lea Francis Hyper 1928 and third going to #16 Clint Smith (GB) + Brad Smith (GB) – Bentley 3 Litre 1925

Win Number One for Dyas and Appleton

At the start of the final day, it looked as though former podium men Theo Hunt and James Galliver were on course for their first win in the event, in their 1933 Frazer Nash TT Replica until disaster struck just before the midpoint of the final leg. The rear axle of their machine sheared, putting the pair out of the rally just as the victory was coming into sight. It was a cruel blow, but the retirement promoted Dyas and Appleton, neither having won the event before, into the lead and with a healthy margin over second place all they needed to do was hold it together during the final afternoon.

Paul Dyas “A wet weekend in Scotland, what more could you want?! I’ absolutely chuffed to bits, couldn’t ask for more. Devastated for Theo and James, it’s not how we would want to win, but then that’s old cars.”

Mark Appleton “It’s actually the first time I’ve finished the event in the same car that I’ve started in! We look grumpy in the car but we’re always enjoying ourselves. Paul did so well, the way he throws the car around the tight tests is incredible”.

Second Place for Vanderspinnen and Tullie

Before the demise of Hunt and Galliver, there had been a final day mechanical for John Lomas (GB) + Pete Johnson (GB) in the Riley Sprite. The car suffered rare reliability problems, a big blow to the pair who were heading the close fight for third place. Their time loss moved Vanderspinnen and Tullie up to third, and then into second once the Frazer Nash had retired as well. They would hold the position during the last regularities of the day, for a tremendous podium after a terrific fight up through the field.

Kurt Vanderspinnen “It’s a dream come true, we aimed to finish on the podium but to come second in one of the smallest cars on the event is fantastic.” 

Final Day Drama Causes Third Place to go to Wire.

After all of the mechanical issues, third place belonged to popular duo Stephen Owens (GB) and Nick Bloxham (GB) in Stephens Jaguar SS100. There was more drama to come though, as a missed time control after the morning coffee stop left them with a 30-minute penalty and put them well out of the running for a podium. That left #41 Martin Hunt and navigator Bob Mannix in third, but with #16 Clint and Brad Smith in the Bentley and #26 Anthony Boland and Anthony James in the Talbot breathing down their necks. #50 Gerd Buehler and James Ewing were in touch as well, now up to sixth after beginning the day in ninth. In the end Clint and Brad Smith would have the better of the afternoon, and finish in third overall by a margin of 21 seconds.

Clint Smith “It was a fantastic event, and I think that Martin in fourth let us off lightly on the final afternoon. It’s just amazing to do something like this with your son.’

So, the 19th Flying Scotsman comes to an end, an edition of fabulous vintage with a tumultuous final day taking the result to the wire. In the end Paul Dyas and Mark Appleton’s first Flying Scotsman win was hard fought and well deserved, and they share the podium with two other formidable crews. This is an event of rich history and a diverse entry, that celebrates vintage motoring and so to see there very different cars at the top of the field is also great testament to the level playing field the route planners have worked so hard to achieve. Everyone involved is already looking forward to doing it all again for the 20th time in 2025.

We use cookies to give you the best experience of using this website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.