Skip to content

RAC Rally of the Tests

The 22nd Edition

Starts In
Start Date
Finish Date
Length of Route
Distance Travelled (Miles)
Approx. Daily Distance
Distance Travelled (Miles)
Vehicle Eligibility
Pre 1991
Only Pre-68 Eligible for Overall Awards
Event Level
Event Level
Exp. No. of Tests
Exp. No. of Regularities
HERO-ERA Cup Coefficient
Heritage & Premier Entry Fee
(until 05 May then £4,350)
Club Member Entry Fee
(until 05 May then £4,567)
LITE Heritage & Premier Entry Fee
(until 05 May then £4,150)
LITE Club Member Entry Fee
(until 05 May then £4,367)

The 22nd running of the event will start from Darlington, spend two nights in the Scottish Lowlands and finish in Cumbria, on the edge of the Pennines.

The “Tests” offers the ultimate challenge in the historic rallying calendar with a wide variety of regularities, tests and TC sections on classic roads and venues in the North of England and Southern Scotland. The 2024 edition sees the event start close to Darlington and head into the rolling hills, wooded valleys and epic valleys that make up Northumberland. Crossing the border for two days in the Scottish Lowlands the event will continue its tradition of taking the road less travelled, challenging crews with every twist and turn as the route makes it way south following the Pennines to finish in Cumbria. A wide variety of tracks, forestry and private land will be used throughout the event.

RAC Rally of the Tests Lite

After a very well received inaugural year in 2023 a “Lite” version will once again be run in 2024 in conjunction with the traditional format The ethos of this will include less driving in the dark and easier navigation instructions.

Based on feedback this year some plotting will be incorporated into the event, but this will never be required on the move, and additional test classes will be included subject to entries.


Main Event Sponsor

Main Event Sponsor

The Route

Event Schedule


Prologue - 07/11/2024

As is traditional on RAC Rally of the Tests the action starts with a short Prologue, a couple of hours in the dark lanes around County Durham is the perfect way for crews to settle into the event and set the running order before heading back to the hotel for the Welcome Dinner.

Leg 1

Leg One - 08/11/2024

The first full day of competition sees an early start with plenty to pack in. We set our tracks north, heading through the heart of County Durham we soon pass Hadrian’s Wall, the Roman defensive fortification built to guard the wild north-west frontier of the Roman Empire.

Heading into Northumberland we take in some classic, flowing roads and challenging private land competition as we skirt the Cheviot Hills. After stopping for lunch we leave England and enter the Scottish Borders where our epic journey pushes north on some favourite, remote, rally roads.

The final sections are sure to be a challenge for both sides of the car and conclude on the edge of Edinburgh, where we stay for the night.

Leg 2

Leg Two - 09/11/2024

Another busy day of competition sees crews heading south-west, as we push deeper into the Scottish Lowlands.

Skirting the edge of the Pentland Hills the epic rolling Scottish vistas keep coming and are broken up with sections that are sure to catch out the unwary as we take in high quality test venues, forestry and private land heading south through Dumfries and Galloway.

A good sting in the dark is planned before crews retire for the evening close to the English Border.

Leg 3

Leg Three - 10/11/2024

Battle will continue as the route heads South through the Eden Valley, skirting the edge of The Pennines as fatigued crews try and keep concentration levels high through the twists and turns of the final day.

One thing is for sure, the crews will deserve their plaudits as they cross the finish line in Cumbria having completed another epic “Tests”.

Vehicle Information

  • Entry is open to cars manufactured pre-1991 or a model available pre-1991
  • Only car types manufactured pre-1968 will be eligible for overall classification
  • The cars will be split into classes, based on age and cc or other criteria established by the organisers
  • The scoring on the Test sections is class based so you will be scoring against other similar aged cars
Arrive & Drive Scheme

Need a car?

The Arrive & Drive scheme allows you to compete should your car be unavailable or, if you are looking to purchase a similar model in the future it gives you the chance to get to know your prospective purchase. We have a wide and varied range of vehicles to suit everyone's taste.

Need a car?
05 November 2023

RAC Rally of the Tests Event Highlights Video

Watch the RAC Rally of the Tests Event Highlights Video here

RAC Rally of the Tests Event Highlights Video

Entry List

Adam Davis (MY)Rupert Barker (GB)1968MG B1866
Andrea Clemm (DE)Dirk Dohse (DE)1981Porsche 924 Turbo3400
Andrew Boland (IE)As Above (GB)1972Lancia Fulvia HF1598
Andy Hamer (GB)Bob Kerry (GB)1963Volvo Amazon1800
Angus McQueen (US)Mike Cochrane (GB)1965Ford Cortina1500
Barbara Richter (DE)Britta-Christin Rehberg (DE)1983VW Volkswagen Golf ITBC
Christian Brash (GB)Matthew Brash (GB)1970MG B1798
Dan Willan (GB)Niall Frost (GB)1962Volvo PV5441800
Dave Hemstock (GB)Colin Readwin (GB)1982Austin Allegro1500
Dave Smith (GB)Phil Cottam (GB)1986Volkswagen Golf1781
George Topp (GB)Rosalind Topp (GB)1966Volvo Amazon 132S1990
Horst Schierle (DE)Manuel Feldmann (DE)1970BMW 20002000
Jayne Wignall (GB)Kevin Savage (GB)1963Alfa Giulia Sprint1570
Joachim Kayser (DE)Patrick W Diemer (DE)1971Volkswagen Mahag Beetle
John King (GB)Oli Waldock (GB)1985Toyota MR21587
Karlheinz Schott (DE)Christian Madey (DE)1987Porsche 924 STBC
Keith Jenkins (GB)TBC (GB)1972Volvo 1441986
Klaus Mueller (DE)Eric Schwab (DE)1965Lancia Fulvia Coupe1298
Marinus Middelweerd (NL)Jaap van den Bent (NL)1980Porsche 9284500
Michael Gerber (CH)Nicola Gerber (CH)1971Lancia Fulvia1584
Michael Matt (DE)Michael Matt (DE)1973BMW 20021977
Michael Moss (GB)James Ewing (GB)1985VW Golf GTi Mk 21800
Nigel Woof (GB)Sally Woof (GB)1961Volvo PV5441800
Norbert Echle (DE)Gerhard Echle (DE)1990Audi 802000
Paul Bloxidge (GB)Ian Canavan (GB)1985Volkswagen Golf GTi Mk II1781
Paul Crosby (GB)TBC (GB)1966Austin Mini Cooper S1293
Paul Dyas (GB)Martyn Taylor (GB)1965Volvo Amazon1800
Paul Heaney (GB)Sandra Heaney (GB)1969Lancia Fulvia1300
Peter Humphrey (GB)Douglas Humphrey (GB)1958Volvo PV5441800
Richard Boughton (GB)Pete Johnson (GB)1972BMW 2002 Tii1996
Richard Worts (GB)Nicola Shackleton (GB)1967MG MGC GT2998
Stephen Owens (GB)Stephen Owens (GB)1965Porsche 911SWB1998
Stephen Sly (GB)Nick Green (GB)1980Austin Morris Mini 1275GT1275
Thomas Koerner (DE)Udo Schauss (DE)1965Porsche 9111991
Tim Birkin (GB)Ruth Birkin (GB)1966Triumph TR4A2200
Tim Lawrence (GB)Richard Lambley (GB)1967MG BGT1860

We use cookies to give you the best experience of using this website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.